Ready, Set, Pokemon Go!

BY STEFITH

Sarach has blogged about her playing Pokemon Go (despite knowing nothing about the game), and let me just tell you that my heart stopped beating for a moment when she famously asked me:

sr2

Seriously Rah, don’t do this to me.

Now it’s time for me, the resident Pokemaniac, to talk about Pokemon Go. I’d have gotten this done earlier, but between starting uni, work, Schooling winning the Olympic gold, and me actually trying to catch ‘em all, I haven’t had time.

But now I do, and Pokemon Go is everything I’ve ever dreamed of.

I am way too invested in the game – every time I leave my house, it’s an opportunity to catch new Pokemon and pick up items from the PokeStops. This game brings all my childhood wishes to life – I always wanted to go on a Pokemon adventure, travelling to different places while catching Pokemon, and now, I can.

I’m not really big on battling Gyms (I’m in Team Mystic, by the way), and my Pokemon aren’t really strong enough yet anyway, so I’m focusing all my energy now on filling up my Pokedex. The most exciting thing I have at the moment, other than the Kabuto I hatched, is my Wigglytuff.

850514596_119465_15966126182420070417

I also have all 3 Eeveelutions, so I’m very delighted:

850616097_18611_6252652710049524638

Check out my Pokemon:

850520507_21365_1540073525521340025

There’s a real thrill from catching a Pokemon with the first throw, or from finally capturing that Cubone that’s been lurking around your neighbourhood. There’s an exhilaration in taking down a Gym, or getting Eggs and Razz Berries from PokeStops. It’s a dream come true for everyone who grew up watching the cartoon and playing the games.

I get an adrenaline rush every time I explore a new area, swiping at PokeStops and throwing Pokeballs at Pokemon, and it definitely gets me out of the house – going to school seems a lot less dreary when there are PokeStops for you to farm on the way to class, y’know.

I also get really uncomfortable when people slam Pokemon Go, and put down people’s excitement or fascination with the game – do we insult your devotion to Arsenal? Or your obsession with EXO or Shinee?

I think as a society, we just need to be understanding and considerate, and agree to disagree most of the time. Plus, technology is ever-changing and growing: we need to embrace these new changes, because, for better or worse, they’re changing the landscape of our world.

Pokemon Go has taken Singapore by storm, and if you head to dense PokeStop locations like Chinese Garden or the rooftop at Vivo, you’ll find it swarmed with people. Now the real challenge for the game is this: how many people will keep on playing in a month, in six months, in a year? As it stands, I’m convinced I probably won’t stop until I’ve truly caught them all (if I ever do stop), but who knows.

Plus, I wonder what other updates Niantic can make to the game to add new dimensions to the game (like Johto Pokemon!!), and how Pokemon Go will set the stage for other location-based and augmented reality games in time to come.

In related news, I’ve written some articles about Pokemon Go for TheSmartLocal (my old and now occasional employer). I’ve got a how-to guide for newbies to the game, as well as a guide to PokeStop-rich places in Singapore.. There are more in the works, so keep your eyes peeled 😀

Have fun with Pokemon Go, y’all! Stay safe, be alert, and have fun. Who knows, I might see you while out hunting for my Dratini. Cheers!

One thought on “Ready, Set, Pokemon Go!

  1. Pingback: What to expect: Night Fest 2016! | Sarach & Stefith

Leave a Reply

