Get Up Close With These Fluffy Felines At Singapore’s First Cat Cafe

BY STEFITH

IMG_1053

If you’ve been following the blog long enough, you would know by now that I am a total cat person. I love cats – they’re chill, independent, and they’re usually plotting your demise, which sounds like me on a regular Tuesday. One of my favourite things about my job is being able to play with and cuddle Pika, our office cat. And I’m still obsessed with Neko Atsume, so yeah. Cats are my jam.

That being said, a few weeks back, I decided to spend time with some cats at Cat Cafe Neko No Niwa, along Boat Quay. They’re the first cat cafe to open in Singapore!

I went down with the boyfriend and my friend Joelle (you might remember her as the awesome girl who takes the photos for my fashion-related posts), and we spent over an hour just playing with these kitties. You can read Joelle’s post about the cat cafe here!

Here is Joelle, stuck, with a cat on her lap.

Here is Joelle, stuck, with a cat on her lap.

The cafe is located quite close to Raffles Place MRT, right along the Singapore River, and it definitely does seem out of place among all the bars and restaurants that are its neighbours. We went there on a Saturday afternoon, and it was pretty crowded! We actually had to wait a while before there was room for us, but the waiting area is nice and, very importantly, air-conditioned, so it was no big deal.

IMG_0991

The staff are very friendly, and briefed us on how to handle the cats and all the dos and don’ts. They tell you about the cats, what each cat’s favourite toys are, and they’ll even help you if you want to try holding the cat.

My better half playing with the cat.

My better half playing with the cat.

The cats are usually asleep in the afternoon (which was when we visited), so I’d advise maybe visiting in the morning or evening if you wanna see the furballs in action.

Hidden in plain sight.

Hidden in plain sight.

There was this particular kitty who wanted to get out of the room, and she just sat at the door and kept meowing repeatedly. She had a rather low-pitched voice, a little gravelly, but she was so cute and so pretty.

Look at her, trying to get out.

Look at her, trying to get out.

She's such a pretty girl

She’s such a pretty girl

The atmosphere is super chill and cosy, and they serve drinks and desserts as well! Joelle had an iced chocolate (which I naturally stole sips from) and it was pretty nice.

I don’t know about you, but I could definitely while away an afternoon reading a book with a fluffy kitty next to me.

This cat is me on Monday mornings.

This cat is me on Monday mornings.

It’s definitely an experience, and if you’re as into cats as I am,  I think you’ll have fun. It was seriously great.

Cat Cafe Neko No Niwa
Address: 54A Boat Quay, Singapore 049843
Nearest MRT: Raffles Place
Opening Hours: 11:00 – 22:00 (Mon, Wed – Fri), 10:00 – 22:00 (Sat-Sun), closed on Tue
More info available on their website.

One thought on “Get Up Close With These Fluffy Felines At Singapore’s First Cat Cafe

Leave a Reply

