#Rahrahskitchen: Sneaky Snickerdoodle Cookies

BY SARACH

Sometime last year, before Christmas, I decided to play Santa for a day, sneaking into my bestfriends’ school and giving out these Snickerdoodle Cookies.

(Don’t ask why they are called Snickerdoodle Cookies. I don’t know.)

((Don’t ask why I took so long to post this pre-Christmas post too. I was just being sneaky.)

#Rahrahskitchen

That particular Friday, I just needed a rest. So out of sheer impulsiveness, I took to my great friend Google in search of a simple cookie recipe I could make in a relatively short time, of which I had all the ingredients on hand for. Sadly, chocolate chip cookies were out of the option as I was lacking those in my fridge.

#Rahrahskitchen: Snickerdoodle Cookies
Google then lead me to this recipe and for about 2 hours, I was busy baking and preparing the next batch to go into the oven. They turned out pretty amazing I must say – light and a little crumbly, the sweetness was just about right. As with all my baking goodies I get from the net, I cut down on sugar, so the adjusted amount is down below.

Also, do take note to use a well greased baking tray or make use of parchment paper or silicon baking sheets. As you have to roll the dough in sugar and cinnamon, they’ll melt onto the tray and leave them sticking (which will be really hard to take out after baking!) You don’t want them in crumbles before even tasting them. Tried and tested.

They may also appear soft when just taken out of the oven, so leave them on the tray to cool down a bit first before taking them off to cool them even further.

#Rahrahskitchen: Snickerdoodle Cookies
Take the size of the cookie dough balls and baking times with a pinch of salt (hahaha see what I did there, a food pun, anyways), you may want your cookies a little smaller/larger so the baking time will go accordingly. As long as they look light brown, don’t seem fragile and you can see the sugar glistening in the oven, that should be about right. 🙂

Ingredients
3 cups (384g) all-purpose flour, spooned and leveled
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons cream of tartar
Pinch of salt
1 cup (228g) unsalted butter, at room temperature
50g light brown sugar
50g granulated sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
(For the cinnamon sugar coating)
50g granulated sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions
1. Heat oven to 175° C. In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, cream of tartar, and salt.
2. With an electric mixer, beat the butter, brown sugar, and 50g granulated sugar on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, 2 to 3 minutes. Beat in the eggs and vanilla. Reduce speed to low and gradually add the flour mixture, mixing just until incorporated.
3. In a shallow bowl or plate, mix the cinnamon and the remaining granulated sugar. Form the dough into balls (each equal to 1 level tablespoon). Roll the balls in the cinnamon sugar mixture gently and place on parchment-lined baking sheets, spacing them 2 inches apart.
4. Bake until the edges are golden, 12 to 14 minutes. Leave to cool after baking.

So there you have it! Sneaky Snickerdoodle Cookies for you to sneak around people’s houses. Or you can just keep them for yourself. How sneaky of you.

#Rahrahskitchen: Snickerdoodle Cookies

(Recipe slightly adapted from www.realsimple.com)

Leave a Reply

