#StefGlobeRollin: Hong Kong Day 1

BY STEFITH

This weekend on the blog, we bring you something special- a daily blog of my adventure in Hong Kong, while on a vacation with my family 😀

Before I go any further, here’s a disclaimer: I’m no travel blogger, and I pretty much had zero input on what my family planned for our trip because 1. I’m lazy and 2. because I was pretty busy pre-trip, so yeah. This will just be a recollection of my experiences (with a lot of squealing about food) and some of my thoughts about this thriving metropolis, which at some times highly resembles Singapore, and at others seems like a whole different world.

So onwards! (Picture-heavy post below)

Our flight left Singapore at 6.45am, so we pretty much spent the whole day in a haze of caffeine and sugar. When we arrived in Hong Kong, we took the Airport Express, which is a speedy train that gets you from the airport to Hong Kong station, which is in the central part of Hong Kong island.

Seats on the Airport Express

Seats on the Airport Express

It claims that it only takes 24min to make the journey- we timed it, and we arrived in just over 23min. It’s super efficient and comfy, and a one-way ticket costs about 70 HKD (12.50SGD) so it makes a lot of sense to take it! We had lunch at the station- I had this really spicy mala beef noodles that left my mouth tingling right from the get-go. From Hong Kong station we took a shuttle to a hotel near ours and walked like 2 minutes to get to our hotel.

My spicy beef noodles from lunch- as usual I ate about four mouthfuls before realising I didn't take a picture #ohwell

My spicy beef noodles from lunch- as usual I ate about four mouthfuls before realising I didn’t take a picture #ohwell

After getting settled, we headed out to explore Hong Kong! We went back to Hong Kong station to look at the ifc Mall, which is the mall attached to the International Finance Centre there. Think of it as something like Paragon or MBS back in Singapore. From there we proceeded to explore other parts of the area, with the intention of ending up at this chapel at a Catholic centre in town for evening mass.

Before that though, we decided to break for tea at this seafood/dimsum restaurant called Majesty Seafood Restaurant. It was so good- we had siew mai, har gow, shrimp chee cheong fun, century egg porridge, carrot cake and liu shao bao- salted egg custard buns. I’ve come to realize a lot of my favourite dimsum feature shrimp, yay.

Look, har gow and siew mai.

Look, har gow and siew mai.

850512929_16346422238596331529

liu shao bao is the best bao.

After dimsum, we went to church, where the service was pleasant, though the chapel was quite small and it got a little squeezy. It was a lovely experience though, and then we proceeded to look for the Central-Mid Levels Escalator, which connects the central part of Hong Kong with the higher-up parts (built on a massive hill) by a long network of escalators.

We just kept going up, and up, and wondered just how high it went.

There are a lot of interesting sights along the way, like shops, restaurants and apartments, which gives you insight into the Hong Kong way of life. However, heading downhill was an experience in itself, because there are no escalators going downwards in the evening, I believe- you have to climb down the stairs and slopes and it is really steep so I was terrified I would fall.

seriously looking down, and down at the streets stretching on forever, actually made me freak out a little about how high up we actually were.

We headed back to the hotel after that, because we were so tired. Tomorrow’s another adventure, so I’m off to get some rest 😀

Here are some photos in the meantime (: Cheers!

why would you display your furniture like this what happens if it rains

this building was very cool it had drawings all over it, and inside, on the shutters of the shops and on the walls, there were also doodles and cartoons drawn all over. I thought it was great.

this building was very cool it had drawings all over it, and inside, on the shutters of the shops and on the walls, there were also doodles and cartoons drawn all over. I thought it was great.

One of the most astonishing things for me about HK is how modern, shiny buildings can co-exist with old, rundown-looking buildings side-by-side. This could never happen in SG.

One of the most astonishing things for me about HK is how modern, shiny buildings can co-exist with old, rundown-looking buildings side-by-side. This could never happen in SG.

Leave a Reply

