Back To School

BY STEFITH

IMG_20150429_125504

‘Third Year Detritus’.

Oh, school. Glorious school.

While the rational part of my brain is fully aware that school is beneficial to me, the sleep-deprived and stressed out part of my brain is crying. Really. I’ve not used the word ‘cry’ so much before, but it’s been my default response to everything for the past two weeks.

“I only slept an hour last night!” “Cry.”

“The assignments just keep coming, it’s like never ending!” “Cry.”

“What are you guys doing for the group project?” “Crying.”

Really. It’s my response to everything- it simultaneously combines what I am doing (crying) with what I think the appropriate response is (also crying).

I’m kidding, I’m being (mostly) sarcastic here.

While Sarach has been having a pretty awesome time out on internship, I’ve been back on campus tackling my last in-school semester.

I’m learning a lot, and I can feel my brain gleefully feeding on all this new information after rotting for two months during the long break. My little grey cells are getting their exercise, and for that, I’m really enjoying school. We’re learning a lot of new and exciting things, as well as getting loads of cool opportunities, so that rocks.

However, school also comes with an assignment load that makes me vaguely nauseous, and that’s where the sleep deprivation and stress is coming from. The workload this semester is a lot tougher- I feel whatever I thought was difficult in Year 2 is now maybe multiplied by ten.

It’s very different, and the expectations of our lecturers are a lot higher. I think they’re trying to push us to prepare us for the working world, which is great, but it doesn’t make it any less exhausting.

Two weeks into semester, and my shoulders are already tensed up. It’s not like I’m not grateful for my education- I am- it’s just that I’m a little afraid that I’m not going to be able to handle the workload.

When the going gets tough, the tough get going, but am I tough enough?

This semester will definitely test my mettle; so let’s see how I get through this.

Leave a Reply

