Unashamedly Feline

BY STEFITH

Photo from Wikipedia.

Photo from Wikipedia

Have you ever wondered what the world would look like if your brain was on LSD?

Well, I’m pretty sure it’d look like the set of Cats The Musical, which has one of the most amazing and elaborate sets I’ve ever seen, with amazing technicolour lighting and incredible sound effects. There were so many bright lights and colours swirling all over the stage- I don’t think I’ve ever seen so much colour on one stage.

cats1_600x450_c43ffce0f1

Photo from inSing.com

I was lucky enough to get to see Cats while it was at the Mastercard Theatre at Marina Bay Sands free of charge- the school sponsored a ‘field trip’ of sorts for us to watch the musical, and for that I’m thankful. I love musical theatre, but my God it is expensive.

Granted we had the cheap seats, but they were more than good enough for me to truly enjoy and appreciate the entire visual spectacle that is Cats.

Cats tells the story of the Jellicle Cats, a bunch of kitties who look forward to the Jellicle Ball on the night of the Jellicle Moon, where Old Deuteronomy (also known to my friends and I as ‘Cat Jesus’) chooses one cat to go to the Heaviside Layer and be reborn.

Featuring a colourful cast of characters (both literally with their multi-hued costumes and their vibrant personality), Cats is a feast for the eyes and the ears.

The storyline is hard to grasp at times, and the first half of the musical seems a bit dull in terms of plot, introducing characters and providing some backstories about the Jellicle kitties.

However, it definitely picks up after the intermission, with songs like Macavity: The Mystery Cat, Magical Mr. Mistoffelees, and a full, powerful version of the famous Memory, which is both poignant and beautiful.

I was especially impressed during the show with the performance of Earl Gregory (Rum Tum Tugger) who displayed incredible professionalism when his mic failed on him midway through the performance. He still kept going, and gave a marvelous performance, a true example of the phrase “the show must go on”.

Cats is the third longest running musical on Broadway, and the fourth longest running show on the West End. It was also the musical that propelled Andrew Lloyd Webber into record-breaking history- when it opened in New York in 1982, Lloyd Webber became the first man in history to have three musicals running simultaneously on both Broadway and in the West End.

So what’s my verdict on this musical tale about the Jellicle Cats? Well, the storyline can be hard to follow, but the set takes your breath away, the dances are creative and astounding, and the songs are wonderful, both hilarious and poignant, with clever lyrics and catchy tunes.

Cats certainly made my week- and I’m glad I took time off my hectic schedule to go watch it.

One thought on “Unashamedly Feline

Leave a Reply

