Arts, Darks, and Some Tweets.

BY SARACH

Stefith has bothered me more than usual about my post this week – I think it’s her editor instincts coming in because:

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 7.35.37 pm

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 7.35.47 pm

‘Nuff said.

While her editor instincts for her Feature Writing module is blossoming like a plant well taken care of, mine may be going away to become a rookie journalist…

I went to Art After Dark @ Gillman Barracks to cover the event for News Writing. Here’s a tweet:

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 7.48.01 pm

Well, I didn’t exactly die but my legs did.

The event went really well and I had so much fun, there were so many people to interview and I was so excited! My group mate and I arrived at around 5.30pm as I wanted to take some photos of the DRIVE art competition of which artists could paint and do whatever they want on the walls of Gillman Barracks.

Watching and waiting for the crowds to arrive was exciting. With the sun slowly setting, more guests (potential interviewees) wandered around the main area where the band and food were waiting there. There were  20 vintage cars on display too. And I LOVE VINTAGE CARS SO MUCH it was my zone man I just wanted to drive it and drive out. Sadly, they were all owned by someone, and I managed to interview one of the owners who told me that these cars aren’t just for display, and that cars like these need to be used. I agree – I need to use one.

However, if the cars didn’t excite me enough, the highlight of the evening was me interviewing the winner of the DRIVE competition. Now, I don’t mean to brag, but I literally ran up the stairs to something like the backstage (behind the band) and asked her for an interview. Gosh, I was so nervous because I tried to think of a few questions on the spot and the photographer kept taking photos of us, I started to get self-conscious. But it was such a great experience! I still can’t believe that I did that and left my friend stranded down stairs without her phone because I was using it (I’m sorry Pond but ily).

So, that’s me and my Friday night date with News Writing. I didn’t manage to get to see all the galleries as I was too busy being out and enjoying the crowd. It was only after I came home that I realised there was this turning wheel portrait and I would have totally loved to turn them wheels. Yeah, I love interactive things… So maybe I’ll go again, not to cover another event, but pretend I’m an artsy person appreciating fine art.

And maybe get an interview with the curator.

Leave a Reply

