Come As You Are

BY SARACH

This goes out to all my church friends, and all those involved in the upcoming Confirmation Camps at your various churches, or trying to serve God within our busy lives. 

Confirmation is a huge thing – it is the moment when you are sealed with the Holy Spirit, and is one of the seven sacraments of the Catholic Church. Being a part of a Confirmant’s journey makes us, service team members, a very important instrument for God to use.

And amidst all this, we still have our own school, work, and social life to look into. Our own very busy lives that need healing, that need attention as well. We all come with our burdens, our shame, our hurts, our brokenness. But yet, we all have that burning desire to serve God, to serve the church because of a calling to bring others closer to Him.

Maybe we’re wandering, not knowing what God wants of us. Or maybe we know what He wants, but just too afraid to take up the cross. Whatever it is, enter the camp remembering when you first encountered God. Remember that God will always be there for us no matter what happens (or does not happen) during the camp. A lot of us are stressed and worried, even I am too, but I have deep confidence and I want to put all my trust in the only one who can make the camp as successful as it is already planned.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” – Matt 11:28

I‘ll lay down my burdens, my shame, my hurts, my worries, my brokenness for those 4 days so that our Confirmants will experience God the way I had experienced Him, and know that our God is the real God.

Will you come with me?

Leave a Reply

