The Accidental Cookie Recipe

BY STEFITH

I was originally supposed to bake and share with you guys my Basic Biscuit recipe, but during my attempt to scale it down to a smaller size (the recipe yields about 50 biscuits, which is way more than my family can eat), I kind of screwed up the proportion of ingredients needed and had to struggle to salvage the biscuits. As such, I wound up with a whole new recipe that I dub ‘The Accidental Cookie Recipe’.

I’ll definitely share the Basic Biscuit recipe one day, but for now, let’s talk about my new discovery!

photo1

The cookies aren’t very sweet (I made them with my diabetic grandma in mind), but the chocolate chips make up for that. Because it’s inspired (technically) from the biscuit recipe, the edges get brown before the rest of the cookie does- so keep an eye on them to make sure they don’t burn. You can put whatever you want in the cookie mixture. I like chocolate chips, but you could put chocolate chunks, M&Ms, raisins, nuts- whatever you want, go wild, that’s what makes it fun!

cookiecloseup

Here’s the recipe- if you guys do try it out, drop me a line and give me your feedback. I’ll be happy to hear your suggestions and make improvements to the recipe! After all, learning is a continuous process.

The Accidental Cookie Recipe

Makes about 20 cookies give or take.

Ingredients

INGREDIENTS

¼ of a block of butter, cubed (roughly 63g, just eyeball it, really)

¼ cup of sugar

¼ cup plain flour

½ cup of self-raising flour

1 egg

¼ teaspoon of vanilla essence (you can also eyeball this)

Chocolate chips, nuts, raisins etc.– whatever you want!

How To

  1. Pre-heat oven to 160°C
  2. Cream the butter and sugar together
  3. Add the egg and vanilla essence, and mix well
  4. Sift the flour and fold into the mixture
  5. Add chocolate chips/raisins/nuts/whatever (the more the merrier!) and mix
  6. Cover your baking tray with baking paper or use a baking spray
  7. Using a teaspoon (or whatever suits your fancy), lump a ball of dough onto the baking tray. Keep a width of about two or three fingers between each lump to prevent them from fusing during baking.
  8. Bake for about 10min, or until the edges of the cookies are brown.

Best served freshly out of the oven (as always) and if you do try this recipe out, do tell me how it went!

Cheers!

One thought on “The Accidental Cookie Recipe

  1. Pingback: #Rahrahskitchen: The Christmas Series Part I | Sarach & Stefith

Leave a Reply

